Weekend Coffee Share

Hello, friend.

If we were having coffee right now, you would likely be laughing at me, for I have red paint all over my hands. I would tell you that I’d just been painting some lyrics for today’s #the100dayproject – and I would excitedly tell you about this project (possibly with a slight hint of tiredness, as it’s got to that point now, but holding onto the creativity). In the midst of talking about this topic, you would find out that I have a blog post up my sleeve all about it, so I will save all the details for then. (I’ve been sharing my project on my personal Instagram: @fateischance.)

If we were having coffee, we would be delving deep into the complexities and difficulties of life. This year has been a hard one thus far, and it’s been a bit of a slog to try and reintroduce some semblance of normality. What even is normality? I think I define it as the things that sew the days together, with a common thread; it is the bedrock of the everyday life that we are used to, perhaps. I would ask how you are doing, and sip on my coffee slowly as I listen – I can never drink it when it’s hot hot, it definitely has to cool for at least 5 or 10 minutes (sometimes longer) before I can start drinking!

If we were having coffee, we may touch on the subject of how even though it’s been hard, I’ve been quietly working on a few things behind the scenes, on and off. Earlier this year, I was planning and putting together layouts for the website, getting it ready to pass on to the boy to build. Things came to a halt on that front, but hopefully the ball will get rolling again soon – all the pages are designed and ready to go. It’s something I was quite proud of doing, as it got me using Photoshop in a way that was new to me; almost every step of the way, I was having to teach myself how to do something new. For someone who is not trained in Web Design, I’m happy with how the templates turned out. Of course, it would have been easier to have a professional Web Designer do the work, but it was a good challenge.

If we were having coffee, I would ask you if you’ve been reading anything lately. Then we would fall into a good old discussion about books. All the ones I’ve been reading are non-fiction. It’s been hard to focus at times; my thoughts wander off in other directions, and the words on the page don’t always want to sink in. I have been gentle on myself, though, and dipping into books as and when I feel like it – one of the best things about reading non-fiction (or, at least, the books I’ve been reading) is that there’s the freedom to do this. Some of the ones I’ve been jumping between are: The Gift of Imperfection by Brené Brown, The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron, Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert and The Highly Sensitive Person by Elaine N. Aron.

If we were having coffee, I might tell you about a project I am just getting started with. It began as an idea a few years ago, but at the time it was simply one of many thoughts I had; I set it aside and moved onto other thoughts. Over the past month or two, this idea kept reappearing in my mind, begging to be paid attention. After a while, I began to realise that maybe, perhaps, I should do something with this idea. A secret Pinterest board has been made, inspiration is popping up unexpectedly, and ideas keep floating around in my head; this is going to happen. I don’t want to give too much away just yet, for it is still in the exploratory stage and I want to enjoy these early days of feeling the way forward. Do you have any projects on the go at the moment? Or any ideas for projects? Participating in The 100 Day Project is teaching me about the importance of projects in our lives; if you have an idea that keeps tugging at you, just get started with it.

If we were having coffee, we would talk about how there are certain times in our lives when circumstances will create a bubble around us. In this bubble, our reality is almost solely about what we are going through. Throughout this chapter of life, I have taken solace in the words of others, both those that have been spoken to me (or texted, written…) and those from people I don’t know. There have been moments, days, when I have reacquainted myself with the act of gratitude, because it’s important in life. No matter whether the days are hard or easy, gratitude is a habit that deserves to be nurtured. Gently, over time, it becomes easier to notice the things to be grateful for. What was once difficult to get through, will start to show signs of goodness – no matter how small or big. Sometimes it feels as if I am continually teaching – and reteaching – myself of the things that are important to me, forgetting and remembering the things that make life lighter; there are certain things that I would write about in my early 20s that I am relearning in my late 20s. Life has this way of taking you down different roads, causing you to live in the season so intensely, that when you come up for air you might have to work at remembering who you are…and who you want to be. It is a wonderful part of life – the power to constantly create the person we visualise becoming. To be human is to always be in the process of becoming.

If we were having coffee, we could go on talking forever. You might laugh again, because I would tell you that I have stolen moments throughout this weekend to write this. I really hope life has been kind to you this year, but if it’s been hard? Simply remember that hard times don’t last forever, but whenever possible, we can create our own moments within the difficult stretches. It is incredibly easy to forget that the light we seek is often hidden inside of us already.

Let’s do this again soon.

Until next time, friend.

IMG_6903

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Kate says:

    I really have missed you. ❤️ This post was perfection.
    If we were having coffee, we definitely would be catching up on our lives. Seems like a lot’s been happening. We’d probably discuss the new normalities we’ve made for ourselves.
    If we were having coffee, we sure WOULD be talking about books – those specifically. I’ve read three of the four you mentioned (very good books) and am in love with The Gifts of Imperfection. A friend is currently borrowing mine because I’ve been recommending it to everyone lately.
    If we were having coffee I’d share with you of my recent journaling adventure and among other things, how it’s gotten me to follow through with my project ideas. I’d likely nerd out about just how beneficial journaling has been at this stage in my life.
    Yes, we CAN create our own moments within the difficult times and we can strengthen from those moments.
    Thank you, thank you, thank you for this! You inspire me so much. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kate says:

    P.S. Wish we could have coffee times. ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sarah says:

      I have missed you too! Your comment made my heart swell – and reminded me just how much I love blogging (and your beautiful words). I sure do wish we could have coffee times too, and talk about everything you’ve written about. Journaling sounds like it’s been a wonderful addition to your life. ❤ There would be *so* much to talk about with these books! Thank YOU for always making me smile, and sending bucketfuls of love across the pond to you x

      Like

Leave a Reply

