The Road Less Travelled

Starting late last year, I researched and made a list of books that would help me to heal; or rather, books that would help me to move on from the pain of 2015. Books that could potentially help me to grow. Essentially, self-help books (and a few others). One of them – which took me months to get through – was The Road Less Travelled by M. Scott Peck. I had read reviews, and it was included in a few lists of recommendation that I stumbled across in my research. One review said that it was not an easy book, but that it gave huge insights. Curious, I added it to my list. Books started to arrive, via Amazon, and my growing pile was starting to resemble the self-help section of a bookshop.

I started with The Road Less Travelled. There were some parts of the book that resonated, and were useful – by which I mean I could apply some of it to my own life. However, I am not sure if it’s a book I actually liked. I have differing views to some of the teachings, and I know that I am much more suited to the insights of someone like Brené Brown (no surprise there). This is not a review, and I’m not dismissing the impact of the book – I can see that it has helped many. Google, and see if it’s the type of book you think you’d like (Amazon and GoodReads offer great reviews on books). Whilst reading, though, I did write down some of the words that jumped out at me.


“Another characteristic of human nature – perhaps the one that makes us most human – is our capacity to do the unnatural, to transcend and hence transform our own nature.” 

Bubbles 1

“The best decision-makers are those who are willing to suffer the most over their decisions but still retain their ability to be decisive. Our measure – and perhaps the best measure – of a person’s greatness is the capacity for suffering. Yet the great are also joyful.” 

Bubbles 2

“Discipline has been defined as a system of techniques of dealing constructively with the pain of problem-solving – instead of avoiding that pain – in such a way that all of life’s problems can be solved. Four basic techniques have been distinguished and elaborated: delaying gratification, assumption of responsibility, dedication to the truth of reality, and balancing.” 

Bubbles 3

“We cannot be a source of strength unless we nurture our own strength.” 

Bubbles 4

“True listening, total concentration on the other, is always a manifestation of love. An essential part of true listening is the discipline of bracketing, the temporary giving up or setting aside of one’s own prejudices, frames of reference and desires so as to experience as far as possible the speaker’s world from the inside, stepping inside his or her shoes.” 


Happy Monday, let’s fill our week with good things.

nanopoblano1

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

