Winding Paths

“Because you are alive, everything is possible.”
― Thich Nhat Hanh

Sea Ahead

My 20s have been a rolling story that is much the same as many others; basically, not easy. There has been no guidebook, no rules to follow. Once you begin this journey of ‘adulthood’…this is it. You, hopefully, learn, grow, evolve. You keep going. You do your best. It doesn’t do much to soften the difficulties of the hard times, but you just put one foot in front of another and keep moving forward – even in the times when it feels like you’re in the dark, even when you don’t know the way ahead. Somehow, someway, you come through it.

Yesterday I had hours of conversation with someone I love. We talked, and talked, and talked. Time slipped away from us, and time fell away; even with time apart, there are some people in your life – and I hope you have these kind of people (or person) too – that when you are with them again, it feels as if no time has passed at all. When you come away from conversations that span hours, your mind replays aspects of the shared moments; you may find yourself making new connections between things in your life, your thoughts chart new territory.

Today, I spoke some of my thoughts out loud…and I can feel myself growing even further. This year has truly been a year of growth and healing, but there was always one thing that kept holding me back in one area of my life. Throughout this week, I had been working on that one thing with someone, and I just know deep in my bones that it is going to bring great things. It means that I can finally, fully, let go of 2015, a year I will never forget; and I can spend the last month of this year looking back on my progress and looking forward to the year ahead. I shall remember 2016 with a deep fondness. There’s something about December that is just magic; the ending of one year – no matter if it was a good or bad year – and the approaching new year creates a sense of reflection – and hope.

In life, there really is no limit to how often you can start again. I am trying to pull from the courage I had when I was younger, and use that to propel myself forward. Seeking new adventures with a heart full of bravery. I am so glad you are here; thank you for reading these words, for sharing my story.

Good things lie ahead.

Jump

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Kate says:

    I know that I’ve basically disappeared these past few years. Life has taken over and that’s not necessarily something I’m proud of or happy with. I haven’t been living it; it has been living me. If that even makes any sense. But I want to express to you that you’re an inspiration to me to work towards getting things back on track and writing again as an outlet for all the things that are happening both on the inside and outside with myself and my life. I too have had an extremely rough year. And am determined to grow from it and come out the other side as a stronger, more balanced, happier person.
    Anyway, I just want to say thank you for your posts. You truly are an inspiration. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

