Bloom

I’m feeling a tad sorry for myself. I’ve got a stinking cold. This afternoon I had a couple of spare hours, and I mostly spent them in cafes in Central London, sipping tea, and then coffee, and people-watching. I had plans to write a blog post tonight, but all I want right now is a big cup of tea and a blanket. Instead, I give you some words by other people, all based around the theme ‘Bloom’: there’s an article that I came across earlier this year, song lyrics I discovered this summer (and the video of the song), and a few quotes for good measure. Happy Wednesday… 


How to Bloom Where You Are Planted

“If you feel lost, disappointed, hesitant, or weak, return to yourself, to who you are, here and now and when you get there, you will discover yourself, like a lotus flower in full bloom, even in a muddy pond, beautiful and strong.”

― Masaru Emoto, Secret Life of Water

“Every flower blooms at a different pace.”

― Suzy Kassem, Rise Up and Salute the Sun: The Writings of Suzy Kassem

“Be like a rose; no matter how many thorns you encounter in life, bloom.”

― Matshona Dhliwayo

 

Bloom (The Paper Kites)

In the morning when I wake
And the sun is coming through,
Oh, you fill my lungs with sweetness,
And you fill my head with you.

Shall I write it in a letter?
Shall I try to get it down?
Oh, you fill my head with pieces
Of a song I can’t get out.

Can I be close to you?
Ooh-oo-oo-ooh, ooh
Can I be close to you?
Ooh, ooh.

Can I take you to a moment
Where the fields are painted gold
And the trees are filled with memories
Of the feelings never told?

When the evening pulls the sun down,
And the day is almost through,
Oh, the whole world it is sleeping,
But my world is you.

Can I be close to you?
(Ah) ooh (aah), ooh (aah).
Can I be close to you?
(Ah) ooh (aah), ooh (aah).

[whistling]

Can I be close to you?
(Ah) ooh (aah), ooh (aah).
Can I be close to you?
(Ah) ooh (aah), ooh (aah).

Can I be close to you?
Ooh, ooh.

Bloom

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

