Little Stories of My Life

There’s a hashtag I love on Instagram: #littlestoriesofmylife. I’ve taken to using it most days, as a way to share the moments I want to remember, usually the best moments of my day – big or small.

Today was a long, long day, but it was a good, good day. I had my third tuning appointment for my cochlear implant, and then the third rehab appointment which is mostly Speech and Language at the moment. It was the first time we did a hearing test with my cochlear implant (which has been activated for 3 weeks now), and I was completely surprised. Contrary to how up and down last week was, I am actually hearing so much already. There’s a long way to go with rehab, which is just getting my brain to remember and/or recognise all the sounds, and there is still likely to be a lot of work on speech comprehension, but it’s really promising at this stage.

This may be a short post but I wanted to share some little stories from today, and perhaps begin another regular post on here.

Moments to remember from today: a sister coffee date with Lizzie, a little adventure in St Pancras Station, *that* purple car that seems to live outside St Pancras, getting excited at spotting some beautiful Christmas lights (which I texted to my Christmas-magic-maker-extraordinaire friend the moment I saw them), and walking through mountains of leaves, loving the feel of them crunching beneath my feet and smiling at the sound they made. All documented below:

img_6229

img_6230

img_6231

img_6232

img_6233

If you want to find me on Instagram, I have two accounts – and you’re more than welcome to follow along. One is predominantly for Sarah Emma Photography, and the other is my personal account (lots of pictures of cups of tea and all the little things that make me happy).

@sarahemmaphotography

@fateischance

Do you use Instagram? What are your favourite hashtags?

Happy Tuesday! (Even though I’m across the pond in London, I’m nervously following the USA Presidential elections tonight…thinking of you all across the waters.)

I’ve actually yet to post all of the pictures on Instagram yet, so you lucky ones are getting a sneak preview here!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Alvan says:

    The one with the purple car and gothic building is intriguing. I’m also curious about your CI and wishing you all the best! I don’t want to be implanted because it might affect how I enjoy music, but if someday my hearing worsens till I can’t hear anything anyway.. who knows.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sarah says:

      The building is St Pancras Station itself, it’s a beautiful building and is part of the renovation/regeneration of the King’s Cross area, which has been exciting to watch as it’s changed (it used to be a dark and gritty area when I was growing up). Thank you!! I actually felt the same way myself for the majority of my life; had a big drop in 2011, but even so I still wasn’t sure, mostly because of music as well, and it was a big struggle to decide whether to go ahead or not. I’ve been pleasantly surprised with music thus far, and it will likely only get better as time goes on. It is a big decision though, and you just have to do what is best for you in these situations. If you ever want to talk more about CIs, then just comment whenever you want – I’ll likely be writing more about my CI journey and how I’m getting on as time goes on too! Thank you for commenting. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sarah says:

    I remember seeing the purple car outside St Pancras last year and thought it was a one off so was quite excited to get a shot of it.. I didn’t realise it was pretty much constantly there until I kept seeing more & more photos of it haha. But I think it’s very cute & suits St Pancras well. Good luck with your cochlear implant .. hope it keeps getting better for you 🙂
    P.S now following both your Instagram accounts 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sarah says:

      Yes! Ditto! I thought the same when I spotted it in the summer, but have since seen it fairly regularly… I wonder who it belongs to…?! Thank you, it’s a long journey ahead but already doing pretty well – excited for what’s to come. Yay, I’ve followed you back! Have a good day! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

