Sunday Night Inspiration

Just like a star across my sky… 

~ Like A Star, Corinne Bailey Rae

summer-2014-343

“You are imperfect, you are wired for struggle, but you are worthy of love and belonging.”
― Brené Brown

It’s been a hard week of listening with my cochlear implant; it was as if I took a few steps back with some of the sounds. Even when you prepare yourself for the ups and downs you may experience, it doesn’t always soften the blow when it happens. After a few days of grappling with the emotions this invoked in me, I am now looking forward to the challenges – and beauty – of the week ahead. I hope you are finding beauty in your days.

summer-2014-344

“We cannot selectively numb emotions, when we numb the painful emotions, we also numb the positive emotions.”
― Brené Brown

Let’s be brave with our lives, in small and big ways. When we fall, let’s learn to pick ourselves up a little better each time. Let’s learn about the things that make us who we are, the things that make us do what we do. Let’s keep moving forward. Let’s support one another.

The two videos above are the wrong way around in order of time, but I watched Listening to Shame today for the first time and knew I had to share it. The Power of Vulnerability is one that I’ve watched before, and both of the talks are on a list of my all-time favourite TED talks. The human nature is a topic that I’ve been fascinated by for a long time. I try to learn as much as I can from my own struggles, and the difficulties that those I love fight through, and I truly believe that we grow through those times. We come out on the other side, often with battle scars, stronger than when we went in to the battle. It’s not always something we can see and feel, but we have changed, morphed into a kinder version of ourselves. Yes, it’s not always pretty and sometimes it can be downright ugly, but at some point or another we all walk through the murky waters of life. Empathy is hugely important.

“The dark does not destroy the light; it defines it. It’s our fear of the dark that casts our joy into the shadows.”
― Brené Brown

One of my goals is to face my own darkness without fear. To live through the hard times without drowning. To always remember that I – and you – carry the light within.

summer-2014-350

We have to find the people who want to witness our lives, and wholeheartedly commit to living life with them.

“Because true belonging only happens when we present our authentic, imperfect selves to the world, our sense of belonging can never be greater than our level of self-acceptance.”
― Brené Brown

summer-2014-346

Even on the tough days, remember to love yourself. It is okay to feel whatever you are feeling. Be kind, you’re doing the best you can.

“Imperfections are not inadequacies; they are reminders that we’re all in this together.”
― Brené Brown

summer-2014-342

“To love someone fiercely, to believe in something with your whole heart, to celebrate a fleeting moment in time, to fully engage in a life that doesn’t come with guarantees – these are risks that involve vulnerability and often pain. But, I’m learning that recognizing and leaning into the discomfort of vulnerability teaches us how to live with joy, gratitude and grace.”
― Brené Brown

summer-2014-354

Let your heart be free this week.

Just like an angel off the page…

~ Like A Star, Corinne Bailey Rae

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

