Tea and Sharing

img_6133

Every now and then I would like to share some things with you. Links, videos, words that have moved me enough to want to share. I put aside some time today to give myself a bit of self-care, and part of this meant watching some TED Talks.

One of the TED Talks was Glennon Doyle Melton: Lessons from the Mental Hospital. I came across Glennon’s blog a few years ago through another blogger, and loved the sense of community she had built through her platform. It’s been great to watch her spread her message the last few years, and she now has two books published – they’re on my wishlist/to be read list! I wasn’t sure what to expect with this talk, though, and found myself feeling inspired. She talks about throwing off the capes we wear to protect ourselves, and at some point we all wear a cape or two. Grab a cup of tea (you knew that was coming), or, you know the drill, any other hot drink you like, and watch the video – you can watch with captions by clicking the CC button at the bottom:

Lyrics fill my head at the moment. I listen to songs and try hard to match what I’m hearing with the lyrics. Some lyrics, even when you’ve heard or read them before, translate in different ways at different times. There’s a certain Coldplay song that I came across this year that is scarily accurate in capturing how I felt about something, it manages to put into words exactly how I was feeling. The joy of finding a song that speaks to us in this way is a special thing. It’s part of why I cannot, and refuse to, let go of music. The melodies. The words. Magic.

Show me a garden that’s bursting into life

~ Chasing Cars, Snow Patrol

Look at the stars
Look how they shine for you
And all the things that you do

~ Yellow, Coldplay

You can’t dance and stay uptight 

~ Dancing in the Moonlight, Toploader

img_5435

Currently still making my way (slowly) through The Gifts of Imperfection by Brené Brown. It’s a book that I started and stopped a couple of years ago, and I restarted it in September. With everything that has happened over the past couple of months, I’ve been real slow in reading it. It’s a book that makes you think, and you will think a lot about yourself; there are many times throughout a chapter that I’ve needed to put it down for a while. There are some books that naturally just take a while, and this is one. It’s not one to just read, you will also need to bring your whole self along with you. Tough but definitely worth it.

Another TED Talk I watched earlier today was Christine Sun Kim: The Enchanting Music of Sign Language. Each person’s experience of life is different, and it is the same with deaf people. Experiences vary from person to person. However, there were a few times whilst watching this that I found myself wholeheartedly agreeing with what she was saying. She talks about ‘sound etiquette’ – something I find true in my life! Through a combination of my deafness and introversion, I try my best to make as little noise as I can when doing everyday things – especially when others are around; I stir my cup of tea quietly, making sure not to hit the spoon against the cup, I catch a door before it slams, and I often do it all without realising it. Christine talks about the similarities between music and sign language, and it’s a truly fascinating video:

Now, I am off to make myself another cup of tea – quietly – and look forward to the cosiness of the weekend ahead.

Happy Friday, sending wishes that your weekend is filled with moments that make you happy.

nanopoblano1

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

