Welcome November

Somehow, all these moments have gone by, and it is November. What a year it has been. Personally, it has been a good year; when last year was drawing to a close, I made a promise to myself that I would heal this year. All year, in one way or another, I’ve been working on adding small good things to my life, looking inwards and assessing how I’ve been feeling, making my way through my thoughts, looking outwards at how I want my life to look, thinking about who I want in my life, reading books that expanded my understanding of myself and others…and it has worked it’s magic. It’s not to say that every day has been good, and that the year has been stress-free (although it came close), but it has still given me many things to be happy about.

Looking back and looking forward can both be helpful – and I certainly do a lot of both – but this month I want to make a bigger effort on being in the here and now. It is something that I have already been trying to do, and I feel more relaxed when I do this. When I stop myself from worrying about things that haven’t happened yet, or dwelling on something that is in the past, I feel calm, more rooted in the present moment. This month I am going to be taking part in National Blog Posting Month (NaBloPoMo for short), inspired by the frightfully wondrous creature that is Rarasaur – and my big sister, Cats and Chocolate, and brother-in-law, Stray Dog Strut. It means that each day this month I will be creating a blog post, and my hope is that they will anchor me to the moment I am in. To the season I am in. (You can find more information on the whole thing over at Cheer Peppers.)

nanopoblano1

For new readers, especially those who don’t know me, or even those who do…actually, strike all of that. This is for you all. I have yet to do a post on here that officially introduces who I am. You may have seen the photographs, but you might not be able to put a face to the name. Unless you have read the words scattered around here, you might not actually know much about me at all. Here goes…

2

You might have already guessed – I am Sarah (Emma is my middle name). I am 27, and live (and love and adventure) in London. I have lived here all my life, apart from a short skint in Reading, and have fallen in and out of love with London more times than I can count. London and I are currently friends. Photography is one of the big loves in my life, and best captured with this favourite quote:

“It’s marvellous, marvellous! Nothing will ever be as much fun. I’m going to photograph everything, everything!”

~ Jacques-Henri Lartigue

I am profoundly deaf, but wasn’t always as deaf as I am today. I was diagnosed when I was 2 years old, and fitted with hearing aids and had speech and language therapy for 10 years. These days I adapt my communication to whichever situation I am in; with friends I may speak (and lipread), or sign and speak at the same time (total communication), or sometimes I switch my voice off and immerse myself in the visual world that sign-language creates. I am lucky to have so many different communication methods at my disposal. This year I made the difficult decision to have a cochlear implant; and currently going through the process of learning to hear with it. It’s a very different way of experiencing the world around me, and so far I am enjoying the experience (albeit getting tired easily – listening fatigue – and trying to get my brain to accept some sounds).

Music is a huge part of my life, and partly why I struggled with trying to decide whether to have a cochlear implant or not. I grew up listening to music, thanks to my parents’ love of music. Cochlear implants are primarily designed for speech, but I have been happily surprised with how music is sounding so far. I’ve got a long way to go with my listening rehab but I will get there. That seems to be a recurring theme, but I believe it. I will get there, and so will you.

Other loves: candles, being by the sea, poetry, snuggling under a blanket on a cold day, a cat’s purr, sunshine on my skin, walking in the rain, chasing rainbows, hot chocolate with marshmallows, getting lost in a film, New York City, big hugs, beautiful sunsets, the creativity of others, finding my own creativity, deep connections, coffee with friends, books that speak to me, building collections, travelling this world, cake, trying new things, never-ending cups of tea, making other people laugh, a baby’s smile, happy mail, interior design, pretty patterns, big bowls of pasta…and a healthy amount of positivism.

I believe that everyone has a story to tell, that we are all human, perfectly flawed, and trying the best we can. I try to accept others as they are, because this world can be an isolating place at times, and I want to try and make it a little brighter in any way I can.

1

Let’s go! Here’s to a month of pushing ourselves just a little bit further, to drinking lots of tea (or coffee) to get through another blog post, to digging deep… We can do this. (And you’re more than welcome to join in!! Have a gander at Cheer Peppers.)

Time to start getting into the Christmas spirit without feeling guilty about it… Wishing you a very happy November, and hoping it’s a good month for all of us.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. rarasaur says:

    One of my best friends lives in London, so I tend to think of it with love. This was such a joyful read. I am glad you decided to join us.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sarah says:

      I hope you can get to London one day, have you been before? It’s a big old city but she has some really lovely corners. Happy to be taking part, but finding I need to come up with some kind of plan to tackle the next month as I’m already struggling a little! Big love.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

