Sunday Night Inspiration

A – perhaps not so – little secret is that I used to have a WordPress blog that I ran for quite a few years. I would write about anything and everything that was on my mind, often in a rather cryptic manner; thus it was relatable for those who read it from all over the world…but the personal details I hinted at were often only understood by those closest to me. In short, it was a wonderful place to express myself and it ended up being a very cathartic process. Sometimes things just come to a natural end, and there were many reasons I closed down that magical blog.

However, there are a couple of things I am sure will be travelling over to this new space. One was my semi-regular feature: Sunday Night Inspiration. These posts were crammed full of inspiration in every shape, manner, and form, and always, always on a Sunday night. They were a great way to end one week and start the new week on a little high. Without further ado, here it is, the new, revamped, Sunday Night Inspiration!

Three little birds, sat on my window.
And they told me I don’t need to worry.
Summer came like cinnamon
So sweet,
Little girls double-dutch on the concrete. 

– Put Your Records On, Corinne Bailey Rae

1.jpg

“I wish to live a life that causes my soul to dance inside my body.” 

– Dele Olanubi

2.jpg

‘Home’. It is a word that has been floating in and out of my mind lately. For me, as I’ve gotten older, it has become more of a feeling than one physical place. It is wherever I feel comfortable; it can be the feeling I get when I’m in the presence of certain people, that sense of being lost in other worlds when I read a book, watching moments of beauty in nature, places in the world where I feel at home, and anywhere at all if I am with those I love. Home is a fluid concept.

3.jpg

I’ve got sunshine,
On a cloudy day,
When it’s cold outside,
I’ve got the month of May…

– My Girl, The Temptations

4.jpg

“I began to realise how important it was to be an enthusiast in life. He taught me that if you are interested in something, no matter what it is, go at it at full speed ahead. Embrace it with both arms, hug it, love it and above all become passionate about it. Lukewarm is no good. Hot is no good either. White hot and passionate is the only thing to be.”
― My Uncle Oswald, Roald Dahl

5.jpg

Summer is still here, with her warm days that end with candyfloss-pink kissed skies. This week we should make a promise to ourselves to notice the little offerings that nature gives. Be in the moment. Notice the world around us. All seasons end, fading away into a new season quietly; watch it all, take it in.

6.jpg

I don’t ever want to feel
Like I did that day
Take me to the place I love
Take me all the way

– Under The Bridge, Red Hot Chili Peppers

7.jpg

Respond to every call that excites your spirit.

– Rumi

8.jpg

The end of the week comes with the opportunity to start again. There are chances to start over each and every day, even within the moments a single day contains, yet a new week is like a new page. As the week ends, you can mentally turn that page. This is your week, and the joy is that you can do whatever you want with it. Run wild.

9.jpg

When your world moves too fast
and you lose yourself in the chaos,
introduce yourself
to each color of the sunset.
Reacquaint yourself with the earth
beneath your feet.
Thank the air that surrounds you
with every breath you take.
Find yourself in the appreciation of life.

-Christy Ann Martine

10.jpg

This is so the happy place. 

All photographs were taken in Norfolk, England, last summer. Norfolk has always been one of my happy places, one of the many places I feel at home.

Have a great week. You got this. 

P.S. This is one of my favourite videos. Watch it, and you will not regret it: 

The Holstee Manifesto: Lifecycle Video

P.P.S. You really have got this. 

Leave a Reply

